Officers of the old districts, whose number is now reduced to 7, supervise the few counties not organized into sanitary units. Many municipalities, such as Montreal and Quebec, have their own Health Bureaus.

The Department of Health and Social Welfare maintains, in addition to its administrative service, the following divisions: Laboratories, Sanitary Engineering, Demography, Mental Health, Public Almshouses, Sanitary Districts and Units, Epidemiology, Industrial Health, Food (including Maternal Health and Child Welfare), Venereal Diseases, Tuberculosis, Educational Health, Dental Educational Health, Advertising, etc.

Service is rendered in the form of consultations, public lectures, school inspections, itinerant clinics of pediatry and tuberculosis, inquiries of all kinds, immunizations, sanitation improvement, etc. Twenty-seven anti-tuberculosis dispensaries have been established and 70 clinics of pediatry, including those sponsored by the Provincial Government.

An Act was introduced at the 1946 Session of the Quebec Legislature designed to combat the spread of tuberculosis in the Province. This Act authorized the Minister of Health to organize facilities for the detection of cases of tuberculosis and contribute to the construction and maintenance of sanatoria for consumptives and the training of specialists in the treatment of the disease as well as to carry on educational campaigns in the fight against tuberculosis. An Advisory Board was also set up to ensure a practical and efficient carrying out of the legislation. Reference is made at p. 788 to the legislation authorizing the establishment of a Department of Social Welfare and Youth in Quebec. When the new Department is organized there will no doubt be corresponding changes affecting the field of effort of the Department of Health and Public Welfare.

Ontario.—The Department of Health is organized under a Minister, a Deputy Minister and an Assistant Deputy Minister. The activities of the Department include, in addition to the usual public-health functions, the operation and maintenance of Provincial Mental Hospitals.

The public-health services of the Province are organized under the following branches: the Assistant Chief Medical Officer is responsible for the co-ordination of the work of Municipal Boards of Health; the Public Health Administration Branch is responsible for the planning, organization and development of the larger administrative Public Health Units now being developed in Ontario on a county basis; Public Health Nursing; Maternal and Child Hygiene; Dental Services; Epidemiology, concerned primarily with the control of acute communicable diseases. Separate Branches are organized to deal with each of the following special health services: Venereal Disease Prevention; Tuberculosis Prevention; Industrial Hygiene; Laboratory Services; Sanitary Engineering. Branches concerned with the supervision of certain aspects of medical treatment centres throughout the Province include: Public and Private General Hospitals; Nurse Registration.

Mental health services throughout the Province are organized under a Director of Hospitals, who is responsible for the administration and operation of 14 provincial mental hospitals. This Branch also organizes and operates a community mental health service through travelling clinics and district consultant psychiatrists.

Serving all branches of the Department of Health, as required, are: the Legal Branch; the Medical Statistics Branch; and the Main Office which includes divisions responsible for accounts, pay, purchasing, central registry, library, etc.